Finding hope in what is unseen, and yet…

I know one of the biggest obstacles between people and believing in God is the concept of faith. How can you believe in something that isn’t right in front of your face? How can you submit your entire way of life to someone you cannot see with your own eyes?

Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see (Hebrews 11:1). That is mildly frightening, I must admit. Faith takes conviction and sincerity. Faith takes trust. Complete trust in something I cannot touch.

I understand that this is not any easy step to take. I am trying to live my life completely sold out to a God I technically cannot set my eye on or audibly hear. I have had my doubts. And yet, I still have faith and hope.

I have not seen the face of God. Except for when I have.

I see God in the smiling faces of the infants I care for everyday at work.
(I am a teacher at a child care center.)

I feel God’s love in the sloppy kisses of one of those babies who loves to snuggle.

I see God when the seasons change and the leaves are painted with new colors. When the wind blows a little cooler.

I see God when I go through struggles and somehow come out stronger, more patient, and more prepared for the way ahead.

I see God when a tragedy occurs and the faithful pull together to pray and encourage one another.

I see God when I am outside soaking in the air, the sun, the sounds of nature. I see God when I lie on the grass flinging paint on a canvas.

I see God in beautiful poetry, in the well-crafted words of others.

I hear God’s voice when my fiance tells me that I am beautiful and worthy of love. God’s presence is there in the love for me that I see when I look into his eyes.

I see God when I look at my scars and think about where I have been and where I am now.
(There will be a more detailed blog on this topic later.)

You may tell me that all of these things are great things. Beautiful things. And yet you still may be convinced that just because there is love and beauty in the world, that doesn’t necessarily mean it flows from a creator. It could just be.

Maybe so. But I think it takes faith even to unbelieve. I think there is more evidence of a loving God than many would feel comfortable admitting.

You can’t put God in a box and carry Him home with you. You don’t see His face. Why believe in something you can’t define? Because all the best things in life cannot be boxed in or defined. Those things had to be patterned after something…or someone…

Do you at least believe in love? Even when you can’t see it? Well, God is love. And He is waiting for you to accept your worthiness of the gift of grace. It is risky to believe. It is hard to be the faithful. But I do see Him. I see His signature written across this world. Life is a miracle. And, as the wonderful C.S. Lewis says: “Miracles are a retelling in small letters of the very same story which is written across the whole world in letters too large for some of us to see.”

So, there you have it. I have faith. It’s big and scary and amazing.

One thought on “Finding hope in what is unseen, and yet…

  1. Pingback: Get to Know Me | warrior hippie

Leave a Reply

