The soul lets go

As may be obvious by the fact that I have already once shared a music video on this blog, I love music.  I love words and poetry.  One band that I particularly enjoy is Stephen Kellogg and the Sixers.  They just released a new album on the 11th, and I have been listening to it quite addictively the past two weeks.

One song that I have really been enjoying is called “Song for Lovers”.  I like Stephen Kellogg’s folk-rock sound and the honesty in his lyrics.  I wanted to share the lyrics to this particular song and talk about my reaction to them.

The lyrics:

As we lay there in the dark, you said you could hear my heart. 
And then you started to cry, ’cause one day I’m gonna die. 

When the body slows, what the heart just knows, 
Is that the soul lets go, where does it go? Oh, I don’t know. 

Now I don’t believe in Jesus, as anything but a man. 
I worry that religion is doing less good than bad. 
And I know that makes a lot of good people mad. 

But what the heart just knows, you feel it in your bones. 
Is that the soul lets go, where does it go? Oh, I don’t know. 

And I’m scared, that when they call me up, 
Will I have done enough? I cannot see how. 
But as we lay there in the dark, darlin’ I could hear your heart pound. 
And I know without that sound, mine would probably give out. 

When the body slows, what the heart just knows 
Is that the soul lets go, where does it go? 

And I could get down on my knees, but I don’t know. 
And you don’t know. 
And no one knows. 
And no one knows. 
And as we lay there in the dark, you said you could hear my heart. 
And I could get down on my knees, but I don’t know. 
I just don’t know. 
And I don’t know.

Now, you might be a bit confused by my interest in this song.  Perhaps for a second there you thought you had the wrong blog.  “Warrior Hippie…” you may be thinking, “…I thought you were very strongly tied to the Christian faith?”  You are correct.  I am.  What that means for me is that I love God with all of my heart and love my neighbor (as best I can).  Who is my neighbor?  Anyone breathing.

This song strikes me as a prime example of the way many people who do not live a life of faith may feel about the concept of dying.  Death is scary to all of us; even those of us who hope for an everlasting life on the other side.  So for those of you who just don’t know, I’m sure it is something you don’t like to think about too carefully.

This song, as well as many songs on this album, is very real and honest.  Very personal.  One line that I wanted to comment on is the line about Jesus.  He says he doesn’t believe that Jesus was anything other than a mere man.  That religion causes tension and bad circumstances at times.  And he feels that this makes people mad.  I find that intriguing, because as a woman of faith I will tell you those thoughts do not make me angry.  Anger is not even an emotion I would have thought to feel.  I lean more toward sadness.  I’m heartbroken that the world’s view of the church has been twisted by the few who think being judgmental and holier-than-thou is the way to win people to the faith.  It almost makes me weep to think that many can accept Christ’s humanity but not his divinity.  By the same token, many believers have a hard time getting their minds around his humanity.  I believe that Jesus Christ was both divine and human.  The Incarnation is a hard thing to wrap one’s head around, but if you believe it, it is beautiful.

The point of Christianity is that God loved all of us so much he came down to us.  We don’t have to work to get to Him.  Mine is not a faith of toiling and fighting to do “enough” to earn my way in.  It is about a loving and faithful Father who ran to me so I didn’t have to climb to Him.  Which brings me to Kellogg’s line in the song –

And I’m scared, that when they call me up, 
Will I have done enough? I cannot see how. 

It breaks my heart as well.  I want to smile at all those who feel this way and say “It isn’t about doing enough.  It’s just about trust.  Love.”  This song admits to the fact that we are bodies with souls.  So, I wish to ask what that means to the nonbeliever.  What is your soul?  Do you believe in something so ethereal?  Where is the proof of it?  Do you feel it in your bones?

I think the singer/poet here is closer to belief than he thinks.  He is questioning.  He is not sure of anything.  He mentions he could get down on his knees, but he just doesn’t know.

I adore this song and its honesty.  It is very powerful for someone like me, because it helps me to understand how those without a relationship with God feel.  It gives me a free pass into their world of doubt.

If you, dear reader, do not consider yourself one of the faithful, I encourage you to at least be open to the idea that there is something mystic abounding.  If you are a Christian, I encourage you to read these lyrics, listen to this song, try to understand those without God in their lives.  We need to understand one another.  We need real and honest conversations; true communication.  I enjoy this song because it helps me to love my neighbor as myself.  And that, my dear hearts, is my calling.

Leave a Reply

