31 Days of Blogging – Days 8 & 9

Day 8 –

I am in a row-boat of sorts, but I am not the one rowing.  I am three years old, and this is all astounding.  On either side of us are two huge ships.  I stare up at the sails and am awestruck.  Then, suddenly, the one on the left sends a cannon soaring toward the other.  A counterattack ensues.  I have never been so thrilled!

No – I’m not in any danger.  I’m in Disney World.  On the Pirates of the Caribbean ride, to be exact.  It is my first trip, and I am loving it.  This ride is the highlight for me.  All these rogues singin’ and drinkin’ – it cracks me up and gets me so excited.  Yo ho, yo ho, a pirate’s life for me.

Day 9 –

It’s probably my love of the Pirates of the Caribbean ride that led to this.  I am about to do some serious battle.  I’m a pirate armed with a “sword” (a stick of bamboo stuck inside a pool noodle).  I’m wearing my skull and crossbones scarf in my hair, and my pirate coat is flapping in the breeze.

The college my cousin attends has a tradition in the spring known as Peter Pan Day.  Everyone gets dressed up and goes to battle as characters of Neverland.  I have been invited by Smee to join with the pirates this year.  The Lost Boys may have shaken-up soda bottles to fire at us but we have gumption and a pretty awesome ship made of bamboo.  It’s on.

12 thoughts on “31 Days of Blogging – Days 8 & 9

  1. I remember the teacup ride the most from when I went to Disney (back when you got a certain number of tickets for each ‘level’ of ride). I don’t even think they had the Pirates of the Caribbean ride back in the day (yep. I’m that old).

  2. I love it! Such great memories of what I’m sure was a really special trip. I have been to WDW a number of times and I always make a special point of doing four things in the Magic Kingdom — Pirates of the Caribbean, The Enchanted Tiki Room, The Haunted Mansion, and Space Mountain. 🙂 I look forward to reading more!

  3. Pingback: 31 Days of Blogging – My Theme and Day 1 | warrior hippie

Leave a Reply

