Day 7 – Another 31 Days Blog

It’s probably a little strange for another 31 days series to be on my list of good gifts, but coming across it has been kismet.  As I’ve already briefly alluded to, I’ve been in a funk lately.  That’s putting it mildly.  I’ve been grappling with my old friends depression and acedia.

I’ve been taking care of R, and more or less getting some work done (I’ve started a small handmade business, so there has been lots of sewing during nap times), but I have basically done no housework.  That’s not entirely true – but I feel so tired and overwhelmed sometimes that I just want to crawl back into bed for days.  Or months.  Or years.

I’ve had small glimmers of hope throughout this season, and I’ve been up and down spiritually.  I chose to participate in 31 days in order to focus on those things God has given me.  I’m trying to pull myself up by my bootstraps.  Or, more accurately, allow God to pull me up.

And so, when I came across the One Thing Alone blog and saw her focus for the challenge, I knew it was God drawing me closer to Him.  Her theme is “31 Days to Deeper Bible Study”, something I am desperate for.

When I was younger, I was confused about how to read the Bible.  I knew that I needed to, but I wasn’t sure what to do with the combination of history, law, poetry, epistles, prophecy, etc, etc.  I wasn’t really given any guidelines other than to read it, and read it everyday.  As I became older and understood things like genre and context, it became easier to get into the flow of study.

A few years ago I started following the lectionary, and that was great.  Having particular readings appointed for the day made it easier to really study and see what God wanted to tell me.  Then, I think I just became nonchalant about it – almost bored.  Not that I consciously noticed it, but I think I got too distracted and too comfortable.

I feel like finding Asheritah’s series was the step I needed to help me get out of this slothful funk and really begin to live my life to the fullest.  The combination of writing here and reading there has been a breath of fresh air.  I’m not just doing it to feel better, either.  I’m working at worship and giving God glory.

So today, I am grateful for 31 Days to Deeper Bible Study.  Go check it out!

4 thoughts on “Day 7 – Another 31 Days Blog

  1. Pingback: 31 Days – Theme for 2015 | warrior hippie

Leave a Reply

