Day 11 – Theatre

When I was a freshman in high school, my friend A told me I should join her for Drama Club one afternoon.  It sounded like fun.  I had been in pageants in elementary school (thanks to my ability to memorize) and had also performed small roles in church for VBS and the like.  I was scheduled for the Drama I class in the spring, so why not see what it was all about?

A couple days later after discussing it with my mom, I went to my first drama club meeting.  And my life hasn’t been the same since.

I simply adore the theatre.  I found something I feel like I excel at.  Stage managing and other tech work are my passions – but I also really like performing.  I’ve come out of my shell a bit.  I’ve been able to help put on some really amazing works.  I’ve been able to collaborate with some really talented individuals.  I’ve learned new things about myself.  I’ve met some wonderful friends.

Oh, and of course, it’s how I met my husband.

I find that so amazing, and here’s why: I always had a hard time marrying my love of all things theatre with my faith.  Often enough, the theatre community is a very secular environment.  And yet, such a tight-knit and amazing community that expresses all the ups and downs of the human condition.  I wanted so much for my Christian friends to understand that world, just as much as I want my theatre friends to know the love of Christ.  I fought with whether or not being involved in theatre was really what was best for me.

Even so – God puts desires and dreams on our heart for a reason.  I’ve always felt drawn to the creative.  I love the arts for their ability to really dig into our deepest fears, hopes, dreams, desires, etc.  You name it, and there is a song written about it, or a play to be acted about it, or a painting depicting it.  I think these talents flow from God.  Yes, the arts can be used for good or for ill.  However, I feel like just being part of a community like the theatre community is a piece of my calling.  I try to live my life by this quote from St. Francis: “Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary use words.”

What finally made it clear to me that this was part of my ministry was the fact that I met an amazing Godly man in the secular theatre world!  Not in church.  Not at a singles ministry get together.  I met him in the heat of summer in a green room.  I was broken, he was broken, and we were trying to listen to God’s will in our lives.  Isn’t that awesome?  I mean that in the original definition: Doesn’t that just inspire awe within you?  It sure does for me.

59264_431636488370_500363370_5310349_3121146_n (2)

During rehearsals for the show that started it all.  Oh, those two kids have no idea what God is about to do in their lives!

33734_1627128400215_1296716946_1766951_4841773_n

I always get a kick out of pictures of The Nerd as Malvolio in Twelfth Night.

7 thoughts on “Day 11 – Theatre

  1. What an awesome way to meet! I absolutely love theater–I did it in high school and university, but I’ve never found a way to make it a part of my life since, which kind of bums me out. We’ve never lived anywhere with a thriving community theater program or anything like that, but I’d love to do it again someday.

  2. What a great God story! Love it! I also did theater in high school. Coincidentally, the church we attend now meets in my old high school in the Performing Arts Auditorium. Great memories!

  3. Yeah, I believe too that God will show us what He wants us to do with our lives. He’s taken me out of things that weren’t right and guided me into things that were.

    I love that you use ‘Awesome’ the proper way. 🙂

  4. Pingback: 31 Days – Theme for 2015 | warrior hippie

  5. What a sweet story! I directed and produced 11 full-length plays for my senior English class–oh, did I mention that I made all of the costumes, too? I love theatre and I love how quiet kids could suddenly find their voice and discover things about themselves that they had no idea of before we started rehearsals. I completely agree that theatre (and movies/TV/music/books/ etc. are neutral–we can find good or bad in any form of entertainment. I work at a different school now, and I kind of miss putting on plays (but not the stress 😉 ).

Leave a Reply

