Day 12 – The Nerd

There is so much I could say about my husband.  And yet, I don’t even now how to put it into words.  He is such a blessing, and I became close to him and to God in a time when I needed support.

When he and I met, I was very depressed.  I was working and doing theatre and trying my hardest to look up.  I was mentally, emotionally, and spiritually spent.  And most of all – I was done with relationships.  I had no interest in getting close to anyone, because I knew they would just let me down or eventually get tired of me.

I especially had no desire for a romantic relationship.  I felt that I had too many neuroses.  I was too screwed up.  I was “too much.”  I had a hard time finding the best way to work on my relationship with God.  I had left a church that I had been a member of since high school, because I came to a point of feeling that my understanding of grace did not mesh with what I was being taught.  I also had a very uncomfortable relationship with a young man who went on to have a position of leadership, and I felt uneasy around him.

I was visiting the church of a good friend, and while I felt God’s presence in a mighty way during services, it didn’t feel like God was calling me to join that congregation.  One Sunday I decided to try a change and I knew The Nerd’s father was a priest.  So, I asked him about his service time and mentioned I may visit.  I remember distinctly saying “Is there going to be a lot of liturgy I don’t understand?”  The answer – yes, but it was a breath of fresh air.

Slowly I started to feel Christ’s presence again, and while much of the service was foreign to me, I began to really see God working in this church.  And, as I was working on shows with him as well as visiting the church where he was the only person I really knew – The Nerd and I started to get close.

So, here we are.  He is such an amazing and godly man.  And what’s more, he understands me.  He “gets” my struggles and my tics.  He can read me like a book.  He is both a great Christian and a very talented actor and writer.  God knew just what I needed, and I feel so blessed to have him as my best friend, my confidant, my entertainment, my lover, and the father of my child.

wedding 089 ++

IMG_0538

7 thoughts on “Day 12 – The Nerd

  1. I love the last photo – I assume that’s on a wall in your house somewhere. It’s neat how God gives us just the one we need. There were things about myself that my husband complemented perfectly – but I didn’t even realize those things about myself til after we had been married for a while (for example, I was pretty tense, he was more laid back; I tended then to be Very Serious while he lightened many a situation with humor. And it’s funny to contemplate now how we’ve rubbed off on each other all these years.)

  2. My husband and I are going through Financial Peace University, and it has been surprising and interesting to realize what a nerd I am and what a free spirit he is. We have often clashed over those differences, but are learning to complement each other rather than compete with each other!

  3. I love this! I’m the nerd and my hubby is the free spirit. I love structure; he loves doing life by the seat of his pants. It works for us! And I liked what you said about church. I am sort of non-churchy right now for various reasons but I have heard from several friends that a more liturgical church might speak to my spirit in ways that some other more freestyle (I need a better word but that’s what I’m coming up with) do.

    • Perhaps you should try a liturgical service! For me I like that it gives me the words to say even when I’m not “feeling it” if that makes sense. It also helps me feel like a part of the worship. It feels much more interactive. 🙂

  4. Pingback: 31 Days – Theme for 2015 | warrior hippie

Leave a Reply

